• Home
  • News
  • Billie-Finneas Duo to Get Chairman’s Award at Palm Springs Film Fest for Barbie Anthem!  


Billie-Finneas Duo to Get Chairman’s Award at Palm Springs Film Fest for Barbie Anthem!  

author-img By Ankita Tripathy 5 Mins Read December 15, 2023

Billie-Finneas Duo to Get Chairman’s Award at Palm Springs Film Fest for Barbie Anthem!

Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell are set to receive the prestigious Chairman’s Award at the upcoming Palm Springs International Film Festival for their outstanding song “What Was I Made For?” featured in the film Barbie. The festival, scheduled from January 4 to January 15, will be a celebration of cinematic excellence.

This is great news for the star and her fans after the tumultuous news of Eilish’s “coming out” controversy. Festival Chairman Nachhattar Singh Chandi expressed excitement about honoring the talented siblings for their captivating original song.

Eilish and O’Connell’s collaboration beautifully captures the essence of Margot Robbie’s Barbie journey in the film, earning them this esteemed recognition.

The award-winning duo, siblings Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell, co-wrote “What Was I Made For,” showcasing their unparalleled musical talent. This collaboration adds to their impressive portfolio and net worth, with Eilish making history as the youngest artist to receive Grammy nominations in all major categories.

The dynamic pair, known for their work on Eilish’s albums, also crafted the James Bond song “No Time to Die,” earning Eilish an Academy Award for Best Original Song. Currently, Eilish is immersed in creating her eagerly awaited third studio album.

Finneas O’Connell, an Academy Award and Grammy Award-winning artist, has not only contributed to Eilish’s success but also written original scores for films like The Fallout and Vengeance.

In addition to Eilish and O’Connell’s recognition, the festival will honor Emma Stone with the Desert Palm Achievement Award, Actress, and Cillian Murphy with the corresponding actor award.

Martin Scorsese’s “Killers of the Flower Moon” will receive the Vanguard Award and Greta Gerwig will be honored as Director of the Year. According to Hollywood Reporter, Jeffrey Wright will be presented with the Career Achievement Award, while Carey Mulligan is set to receive the International Star Award for Actress.

Colman Domingo will be recognized with the Spotlight Award, Actor, and Da’Vine Joy Randolph with the Breakthrough Performance Award. Additionally, Danielle Brooks will receive the Spotlight Award for Actress. The Palm Springs International Film Festival promises a star-studded celebration of exceptional talent in the film industry.

Read Also:

Share This Article:


Ankita Tripathy

Ankita Tripathy loves to write about food and the Hallyu Wave in particular. During her free time, she enjoys looking at the sky or reading books while sipping a cup of hot coffee. Her favourite niches are food, music, lifestyle, travel, and Korean Pop music and drama.

View All Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *